Mea culpa, mea culpa for a sincere apology

Mea Culpa is is defined as:Mea culpa spelled in blocks

 
Spelling it out

“An acknowledgment of a personal error or fault.

Synonyms:  “eating crow”

It just won’t go away.    The #lendink debacle continues.   In a recent post, I apologized for my own misinformation and asked for understanding from the mob threatening authors who were misinformed.    I am flattered that my lil’ ‘ol blog seems to carry any weight   Judging by my stats, I still don’t think I really have that many facebook or twitter or blog followers.  However,  an apology is an apology.   Fascinating how one can write it in black and white and yet it is still not accepted.  The written word is read in the frame of mind of the reader.  Anger begets anger.   When I am wrong, I am wrong.   At this point, after much more information has surfaced, it is clear that I jumped to conclusions about my own book, FLYING SOLO, being included in the books on LendInk.   I sought information from the owner of that site, Dale Porter.   I received no return emails from him.    I asked author groups, bloggers, and fellow writers.    The rage of angels ensued.  If I was a party to that, mea culpa.

I wrote a blog about piracy, which does exist.   It appears that LendInk is a legitimate site.   My apologies to LendInk if I was misinformed.  My sincerest mea culpa for including LendInk at all the my post.   Clear and simple.   Let’s all move forward now.

Humility has been extended.    Let’s show some courtesy and dignity amidst our community.    End the slamming.    Let’s all be kind, but vigilant.    #showthelove4authors  

4 thoughts on “Mea culpa, mea culpa for a sincere apology

  1. Actually an apology is not necessarily a real apology. You’re still using non-apologies with all of the if statements. Check out this wiki page http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-apology_apology – these are the only kind of apologies you’ve made so far.

    Try a real apology and you might see better results.

    • As the bucket swirls. Exactly what I wrote about. It’s just not black and white enough. Thank you for proving my point. Maybe tarring and feathering would do the trick? It takes 100 positives to erase a negative. Time to move on.

  2. Steve Wilson says:

    You still don’t understand. Here is some advice. Go to this link: https://www.facebook.com/pages/LendInk/124974504234948. Pitch in five bucks. Take the lead from Jacqueline Hopkins-Watkins:
    “I am so happy to hear you are trying to bring your website back online. I hope you find a host and things are better and stronger for you. I am really happy to see authors who realized they were wrong speak out publicly and are helping to right their wrong; my hat is off you.”

    Or LaVerne Clark:
    “I feel terrible that I had believed wholeheartedly you were a pirate site! I apologise profusely and am so glad I’ve found out that couldn’t be further from the truth. I will pass on this information to all of my author friends who also thought they were affected. I hope LendInk goes from strength to strength now and this ‘bad’ publicity turns into great publicity for you.”

    Viola! Absolved. Instantly.

    I don’t expect any of this to be posted, due to the threatning nature of these words, but surely you see how simply intelligent and useful it would be for you to follow this advice? Just telling people to move on doesn’t cut it. Can’t you see that?

Leave a Reply

